Appealing a sentence or the denial of probation just got tougher under Tennessee law. In years past , the Court of Criminal Appeals and the Tennessee Supreme Court would review a sentence or the denial of probation based upon a standard of review referred to as de novo based with a presumption of correctness. In

I know it is shocking but there are some people that are guilty as charged. The criminal justice system cannot afford to put everybody in prison. So , the Tennessee Legislature created alternative sentencing that allows the judge to not send a person convicted of a crime to jail in certain circumstances. The most typical

A Gallatin , Tennessee band teacher was charged with statutory rape by an authority figure .  From news reports , a female teacher had sexual relations over 20 times with a student . The case is set for hearing in the General Sessions Court of Sumner County , Tennessee in December. There are two points about


Brian Haas of The Tennessean reported that only Washington D.C. has a higher rate of gun violence. Those in Tennessee were more likely to be victims of violent gun crime than any other state in the nation. Tennessee leads the nation  at which its citizens are the victims of aggravated assault and

Under Tennessee criminal law , there are several different types of homicide or murder charges from first degree murder to criminally negligent homicide. Criminally negligent homicide is the least severe charge of murder . It is a Class E felony which carries a full range of punishment of 1 to 6 years in jail .

What is the punishment for aggravated sexual battery under Tennessee criminal law ?

 Aggravated sexual battery is a Class B felony in Tennessee . The full range of punishment is 8 to 30 years in jail . The true length of the prison sentence depends on the number of felony convictions that one

My goal for this blog is to provide information about DUI cases and criminal cases in Tennessee . I am starting a new category today on DUI FAQ.

What is the legal limit of alcohol under Tennessee’s DUI Laws ?

Tennessee Code Annotated 55-10-401 (a) (2) provides it is unlawful for any person to drive

High School students over 18 or college students can face criminal charges under Tennessee law for alcohol offenses.There are two laws which may be charged with different penalties..

Possession of alcohol or purchasing alcohol by someone under 21 is a Class A misdemeanor . The kicker is pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated 57-3-412 (C)(i) a


What does this guy’s brain have anything to do with the criminal trial tip of the day. Everything is the answer. More specifically it is Mens Rea . Don’t overlook the mens rea in every case. i almost did .

In preparing for a criminal trial , one gets caught up in witnesses